newgyptian
newgyptian

Survey says....
October 26, 2004

Ok, so I actually have an interesting occurrence to recount, but I want to see if I can�t get a picture to accompany it first before I write about it. Until then, here is a survey I stole off of Ms. Dolo�s blog archives. I love these sorta things.
Oh, but before that, check out NotoriousRRZ�s October 23rd entry. I loved it, because I have so many �guilty� pleasures that I try to qualify in some way or other, and I just think he wrote very well on the topic. [My �guilty� pleasures? Country music, and I don�t mean just the good kind like Emmylou or Hank Williams or Johnny Cash. I�m talking about Brooks and Dunn, Trisha Yearwood, the Dixie Chicks. Early Shania. And Harlequin romance novels. But only harlequin.] Anyway, anyway, just�go read it. Now onto the survey:

1) Ok, she had no idea what number one was and neither do I.

2) Have you ever had a song written about you? Haha, why yes. The �love of my life� � in high school wrote a song about me called Plain Jane and the infinite brain drain that we were supposed to sing together at the talent show that year, but by that time our relationship had long gone bust. BK wrote an impromptu song about me that most of my friends loved though it took me a while to appreciate it (especially since I�d heard the other heartfelt songs he�d written about his other girlies). Sample lyrics: �Newgy she�s not choosy/ That�s why she�s with me� and Lady Di�s personal favorite line from that song �I got a 4.0/ But not Newgy.� Heh. It has its charm, though it doesn�t really warm the heart the way a song about you is supposed to.
I�ve also had a great deal of poetry written about me. Even a whole book that was bound in an old leather cover from a book called �On the Economics of Human Life�. I really have no idea what it is about me that inspires this�maybe it�s just the guys I know. The answer to this question is YES.

3) what song makes you cry? Umm�let�s see? Counting Crows �Long December�? Billy Holiday �My Man�? I don�t know. I don�t actually think there are any songs that make me cry. Hmm�OH, maybe Coldplay �Clocks�? Dunno.

4) what song makes you happy? Morrissey, �Hairdresser on Fire;� The Smiths, �There is a light and it never goes out;� Depeche Mode, �Just can�t get enough;� Billy Holiday, �The Very Thought of You� (oh man does that one make me grin); Flogging Molly, �The worst day since yesterday;� Arlo Guthrie, �Alice�s Restaurant;� Camron, �Hey Ma;� Missy Eliot, �Work it��.there are just so many.


5) what do you like to listen to before bed? The sounds of cat mating outside my window? Ok, I don�t really like that, but that is most often what I do end up falling asleep to.

a p p e a r a n c e

height: 5� 7� though most people insist that I am taller

hair color: Dark brown with various highlights thrown in from years of dyeing and henna, and a few wiry grey hairs.

skin color: My friend Laserray once described it as �Magnolia�

eye color: Brown, hazel in the sunlight (really!). My friend Nadia once said they look like sunflowers, whatever that means.

piercings: Just ears.

tattoos: Not yet, though I�ve been idly thinking about getting one for a while. I dunno. Maybe not.


r i g h t n o w

what color pants are you wearing?: Heather brown pants from Banana Republic. The only BR pants I own.

what song are you listening to?: I keep switching from Morrissey�s �Hairdresser on fire� (another song that makes me happy), to Faint of Heart�s �To make her cry�

what taste is in your mouth?: Dry cottony fasting taste. Yum!!

what's the weather like?: Cooler than it has been, but still very nice and warm.

how are you?: Sleepy, hungry. Otherwise content (though not happy).

get motion sickness?: Really only when watching home made movies.

have a bad habit?: �I drink, I smoke, well good me too. We gonna get it on toniiiiiiight!� Um, okay. Yeah, I bite my nails. I have a bad temper when provoked, though that happens rarely. I think too much about things, and don�t always let them go. I am judgmental. I have been called a gossip though I don�t think that is true. It just so happens that all of my closest friends are not also each others closest friends. Therefore, I may end up telling someone that I don�t think �counts� something that I shouldn�t have. That is not to say that I don�t love to HEAR gossip, but I honestly try not to spread it. Really. I do. I watch too much TV. I slouch.

get along with your parents?: Eh, lately yes. Let�s keep it at that.

like to drive?: It depends. If it�s on a wide open road then I love it. Otherwise I get nervous. All in all though I prefer being driven (I love to be in vehicles) to driving.

f a v o r i t e s
tv show: The Wonder Years, American Dreams (new favorite!), Six Feet Under, people I LOVE TELEVISION. This is an unfair question.

conditioner: Garnier Fructis or Citrashine

book: The Story of Zahra by Hanan al-Shaykh; East of Eden, Steinbeck; The Ship by Jabra I. Jabra, The Lover by A.B Yehoshua, No Hindrance by Wei Zhou Shu/ Joe Wagner (a book of poetry really). Again I love books. This is too hard.


non alcoholic drink: Wudder, Diet Coke, coffee.

alcoholic drink: Rum and Coke? Framboise. I just drink what your mamma gives me.

thing to do on the weekend: Read, watch TV, take a walk, do nothing for hours. Sit some place and have coffee. Hang with friends�though honestly, happily, I do that as much during the week as on the weekends.

h a v e y o u

broken the law: In very minor ways.

ran away from home: Like pretty much every other kid, I ran away to the backyard. Actually I didn�t even get that far because my sister found my bag, the tent, and my money stash and told my parents before I had a chance to escape. I might still have to run away from home someday though.

ever gone skinny dipping: Uh Uh.

made a prank phone call: Used to do it all the time at my friend Jenny Rosenberg�s house.

ever tipped over a porta potty: No, I like Ms. Dolo�s answer to this��Is that, like, the Central Park version of cow-tipping?�

used your parents' credit card before: Only rarely and only with permission.

skipped school before: Too many times to count.

fallen asleep in the shower/bath: Hmm�I don�t think I have.

been in a school play: I was the little engine that could, among other things!

l o v e

girlfriend: No.

boyfriend: No.

sexuality: I love me some mens, and as much as I�ve hoped to discover/tried to explore some other tendencies, I�m hetero through and through.

children: Don't have any. Still not sure if I want any.

current crush: Egyptian journalist Ahmed Said, and Israeli Attorney General Menachem Mazuz. Yeah, shut up. It�s slim pickings for me over here. Also, against all my better judgment I think I am developing a shameful crush on Jimmy Fallon. OH GOD I said it �out loud.�

been in love: Sure.

had a hard time getting over someone: Yes, but ultimately not as hard as I thought I would have.

been hurt: Sho� �nuff.

your greatest regret: Not putting my foot down and going to Tanzania in the summer of �97.

gone out with someone you only knew for three days: Well for some value of �knew,� yes. (After all, what is it to really know someone?) {ducking}

r a n d o m

do you have a job: Indeedly so.

your cd player has in it right now: Work computer CD player has Morrisey�s Viva Hate and my discman at home has Madame Zeniths� �Totally Random Mix� CD.

if you were a crayon what color would you be?: Mangolia. Okay, actually more like Periwinkle.

what makes you happy: Sunshine, music, being alone/ having the place all to myself, television, movies, nice people, children, artistic expression, political debate, a really good long conversation. Knowledge. Coexistence. Chocolate. Pizza. Watermelon. Being with the people I care about. That�s actually number one.


who makes you happiest: Motherfucking me! Ok, actually, this is a tough question because there are so many people in my life who make me �happiest� but so as to avoid my famous wishy-washiness I�m just going to go with the first person who popped into my head when I saw that question�BK. To be fair, he is the person I talk to most regularly who makes pretty happy. The rest of y�all just aren�t on the IM often enough. Also, BK just reminded me of the �Wake Kitty Up� song which has kept me smiling for the past few days.


what's the next cd you're gonna get?: I am thinking about purchasing the Cheese On Bread album. I am also going to be receiving Souad Massi�s new cd from Mini soon. Yay!

w h e n / w h a t w a s t h e l a s t

time you cried: Uh, can�t remember though it must have been recently as I�ve been dealing with some frustrations lately.

you got a real letter?: Hmm. I got a post card from Vegas from my friend Austin about two months ago. Other than that the only person who ever really wrote me real letters doesn�t even acknowledge my presence anymore. *sniffles*

you got e-mail: Yesterday, from an old roomie who is probably coming to visit me in December.

thing you purchased: A cab ride?

tv program you watched: Bakkar, the special Ramadan cartoon about a do-gooding Nubian boy. He�s so cute! And the theme song for the show is sung by my favorite Egyptian singer, Mohammad Mounir.


movie you saw in the theater: Fahrenheit 911 It�s been way too long since I�ve been to the theater. And now that it�s Ramadan they�re closed and I�ll never get to see Mean Girls, 13 Going on 30, or Alexandria-New York. Sniffles. I love the cinema.

y o u r t h o u g h t s o n

abortion: Pro-choice though entirely unable to stomach the idea for myself.

teenage smoking: Ah, teenage smoking is bad. It leads to adult smoking, which is also bad. I am not being a hypocrite. I recognize my own faults. Besides I don�t really smoke anymore.


spice girls: Nostalgia. They just remind me of Kuwait, and the morning show with the ever-perky Linda! *sigh* Other than that, eh, they can be fun. (Btw, how outdated is this survey?)


dreams: I love dreams�the kind that you have in your sleep. Otherwise, I don�t know that I much believe in that other kind of dreams.

go west + go east