newgyptian
newgyptian

Jump in
October 21, 2004

You ever have one of those weeks where it's just so full you can't imagine fitting anymore into it? Of course y'all have. Well, it's been one of those weeks for me, and I don't even know where to begin (Name that lyric: 'Let's start from the very beginning/ A very good place to start').

Anyway, how about we begin with the best photo essay ever? It's from Tony Pierce's blog, a blog I alternately really enjoy and then kind of think is stupid. Just remember nothing in there is true. But the photo essay, which is entitled You Know You're Right, is purdy funny. Maybe it helps that I heart Kurt Cobain?

Alternately, we could begin with how happy I am that Mr. Inkwell is now blogging and he's a damn sight funnier and more interesting than I am. Note: He is also now linked below on the left.

As is my new online buddy and the NotoriousRRZ's real-life colleague GreatSirG who for some reason removed the entry where he gave me an "award" for being the first person to sign his guestbook. *Sniff* I'll get over it. Someday.

I'd also like to link Ms. Dolo down there on the left, but I don't know how she'd feel about that. I've got to find her on the IM and ask her, or, you know, I could like email her. Speakina Ms. Dolo though, her new short 'do is HOT HOT HOT. (I really like it a lot!) Yay, for daring new looks stemming from semi-destructive states of mind. [Hang in there Lolita. We've all been there and it sucks. Just think of all the Greyhound bus fare you're saving! To pay for more new hot hairdos and the like.]

******

Ok, so quick run-down. I took my Arabic Lit Comprehensive, and in case it wasn't explicitly clear from yesterday's entry I passed my Arabic Lit Comp, so I'm now 25% through with what I have to do to finish this Damn Masters (tm). There are three more items left to take care of, but I was the most concerned about this comp. So zippidy-do-dah! Although I can't help feeling like my advisor didn't even really look at the 26 pages I submitted and just kinda figured, "Ah, it looks like she knows what she is talking about. Okay, let's get rid of her already. NEXT!"

But then again, I'm not going to complain.
(Allah yi barek fiki Yibba!)

Ramadan is going well (and to those of you who have witnessed some of my crazier I'm-fasting-but-I'm-not Ramadan antics, yes, I am in fact fasting). The receptionist at our office is annoying the hell out of me these days, which actually doesn't mesh well with the holy Ramadan feeling that one is supposed to have. He keeps bugging me, coming into my office when Monde isn't around. Asking me if I want to break fast with him some time during Ramadan. Asking me to recommend some good Western music to him, and then when I ask him for some measure of good he tells me, "You know, like, Ricky Martin." How am I supposed to work with that? But that's okay. Then he comes in and hears the Smiths playing and he says, "I don't see what you like about this kind of music." This kind of music is, by the way, playing very softly and he probably can't even hear it, he is just trying to make conversation with me even though I keep trying to steadfastly ignore him. No, Mohammed, don't look over your shoulder like that. I'm not ignoring the person behind you. I'm ignoring you.

You know, when I started working here his little crush on me, or whatever it is, was kinda cute, but now I just want to crush him. I can't even explain it. I can accept a lot of kinds of "weakness" but he is that exact kind of weakness that I can't stand.

Oh well. I agreed to break my fast with him next Thursday. I conveniantly forgot when I made those plans that I'm off next Thursday. Oops. (And seriously, so as not to come off as a total bitch, I really did forget).

What else? My phone broke on Sunday night when PG messaged me to see how things were going. Because I was working on the exam still my Dad kindly took my phone in to be repaired. They gave him the battery and the GSM chip (ie-that thing that is my phone line), and somewhere on the way back home my Dad misplaced it. So I've been without a mobile phone for the past few days and I am really sad to say that I felt like a body part was missing. I mean, it was more than a phone to me. It was an alarm clock. A date book. A link to the outside world.

Anyway, I finally got my chip replaced today with the same old number (012-239-0219, for those of you who love me and wanna call), but only after my Dad and I had two huge blow outs over bureaucracy and the Egyptian way in which my dad said I was 'selfish' and 'afraid of confrontation' which no doubt upset me. These comments upset me not because I think they are both absolutely untrue (I am, like everyone else, a little bit of both), but because I think that those are not really things that define me. If he had called me stubborn, single-minded, and rude (oh wait, he did call me that) I would have been a little more accepting. (And if anyone is wondering how all this came about just over a stupid mobile phone, just remember Egyptians are to some extent Mediterranean and do share that (in)famous Mediterranean temper).

Anyway, I�m not here to complain about my dad. My dad rules. Fights with dad and life without my mobile sucks.

I have been reading the diaries of way too many teens. Next time, something a little more intelligent.

Ciao.

go west + go east