newgyptian
newgyptian

I'd like to thank the academy
October 18, 2004


Woo! I. AM. DONE.
The feeling is not as free as I thought it would be. Maybe because I have to do this again in month? But it should be a little easier with the Israeli Lit.

Man, I was working right up until the very last minute, and I�m running right now on no (read: maybe 2 hours?) sleep, but it�s done. I am getting too old for this though. I am a little sad, because I think my first two responses were pretty solid. If not perfectly articulated, they were�I�m pretty sure�right on the nose. My last response, which was really three responses as I had to discuss the influence of three different authors on Arabic literature, was/were really weak. By that time I was just falling asleep, and getting about ready to do a one sentence, �Al-Jurjani and his Secrets of Eloquence rock the house!� But I�m thinking that wouldn�t have gone over too well.

Anyway, I don�t really want to talk about the exam anymore. I might at some point because I really thought the questions were good and unexpected, and I had a kind of epiphany (or three) when sitting the exam.

But later, later�

Right now, I have a few people to thank.
* First, even though I hope they never ever get their hands on this URL, I�d like to thank my family for being so damn cool while I was stressing out this weekend. Thanks dad for giving up your study! Thanks mom for the tea. And the coffee. And the coffee. And the yummy Ramadan sweets that kept me going. And of course, biggups! to my sister who is always there for me with the prayers, and the encouragement, and the �you�re being dumb, now get back to work!� Hooray for family.

* Smooches and thanks to BK for being my virtual hand-holder, and for reading over my essays, or parts thereof. And for just being so damn cool and checking up on me, making sure everything is okay. Let me know if I can return the favor some time.

* Thanks to Cheese on Bread for being the soundtrack to the past few days. Check out their site. (I know at least Notorious is in the know). Listen to the few sample tracks they have there under �album.� Love it like I do. I�m really feeling �Structure of a crush� lately. So true. But then again, there�s nothing like Sarah�s crooning on �I like cheese.� Yeah, baby, I�d be a vegan too if it weren�t for cheese. Or fish. Details. And the adorkableness that is Dan on �Stepping out of ketosis� when he sings, in that earnest, teen pop-y voice That�s pitiful/ You�re super smart and beautiful/ And he�s a stupid monkey.

Ok, so you all get it. Check them out. Smile.

* Thanks to Mini and Lady Di for moral support and repeated offers to read over shit, that was conveniently all completed long after they�d gone to bed or work. Oh well.

* Thanks to GreatSirG for�giving me an award! Now what do I get?

I�m sure I�m forgetting something, so in the spirit of my old friend Coles I�m going to thank the spice rack and all those people who never bothered to try and make a difference in my life.

Ok, the one person who would find that as funny as I do (I'm pretty much doubled over in a fit of giggles) doesn�t read this.

Inside jokes. Not really that fun when you're the only one on the inside.

**Ooo! Yibba and Notorious have just updated. I am--to quote J. Lo in Selena--muy excited! **update** I just read Notorious' entry in which he talks about how he's not "happpy" (I totally understand) and then at the end talks about my hotness. I am blushing. Thanks, you! Now I miss you even more :(

go west + go east