newgyptian
newgyptian

I love satellite technology
May 23, 2004

Ok...I have so much to write about how I taught my first class today, and how I've submitted my first translations for my sorta kinda part-time job, and how I've been so freakishly busy lately, but honestly I'm just too tired to get into it right now.

So instead I'll just take a moment to talk about the amazing cinematic discovery I made this morning. I was eating breakfast and flipping through the channels and I happened upon the Turner Classic Movies (TCM) station and a movie playing called _Cairo_. Usuallly, I don't make too much of these old movies playing that are supposed to have something to do with the Middle East, because they tend to be really fake, innaccurate, etc. Anyway, this movie was totally awesome (ok, maybe not the greatest film ever) BUT the lead female role was played by Egypt's leading lady, Faten Hamama. If you remember a couple of entries ago I was gushing over Omar Sherif's gorgeousness. Well, Faten Hamama is the real life lady who managed to capture Sherif's eye, convert him to Islam (rumor has it that he's Jewish, though officially he was born to an Alexandrian Christian family), and get him to marry her. No small feat. This woman, she is absolutely beautiful (Mr. Inkwell, I KNOW you'd love her). Anyway, back to the movie...it's acted all in English, but aside from the two leading male roles, all the actors are famous Egyptians from the 1960's (the Golden Age of Egyptian cinema), and, AND my absolute favorite Egypt actor is in it...Ahmed Mazhar. (I also mentiond him in that entry about Omar Sherif). So...my point here is folks, if you can, check out this movie. It's got some great scenery of Egypt and it's got all the Egyptian actors you really ever need to know. _Cairo_(1963)

go west + go east