newgyptian
newgyptian

Just checking in with myself
July 17, 2005

Recently I�ve been reading The Unbearable Lightness of Being (which I move to have renamed An Interminable Defense of Serial Adultery), and have some thoughts on that. Thoughts on the novel itself, and thoughts on the specific copy that I�m reading. But, I�ll put those thoughts aside until I�ve finished the novel completely. I�m close, but I think it�s unfair to judge it now, especially when the author was enthusiastically recommended to me by someone towards whom I now feel alternately annoyed and indifferent, thus possibly tainting my true feelings about the novel. I don�t know. Kundera has been enthusiastically recommended to me over the years by many people whose opinion I trust and respect, so I�ll just wait and see.

This morning and all day long I�ve been feeling like I�m on the verge of a breakthrough. It�s not as if I�ve even been waiting for a breakthrough or anything, but it feels like I�m on the verge of reaching some sort of conclusion that will illuminate my life, and which will hit me in a way such that I will feel both liberated and devastated. Who knows if and when I will make it to the other side?

go west + go east