newgyptian
newgyptian

Getting really real
November 10, 2004

After that last entry I realized that a lot of times I write about stuff that only nominally bothers me as a way to kind of ignore those things that are actually bothering me. The problem is that some of the things that are really eating at me have to do with my family, and I am very protective of my family and don't want to put them where they don't want to be.
Then again, it doesn't make sense to not write about those things that are actually weighing me down, here, in my diary.

So...I ask you folks, if it's something you're inclined to do, to say a little prayer for my baby brother who will be going under the knife tomorrow morning to have his gall bladder removed. For those of you who don't already know, he had to drop out of his first semester at U Miami because a week into it he got Hepatitis A, spent nearly 3 weeks in the hospital, and by that time had fallen so far behind that he decided to defer the semester till the Spring. He has since been living with my uncle in Western PA, working part-time and trying to recuperate. Unfortunately, my brother has no concept of proper eating habits, and the sludge that was forming around his gall bladder as a result of the Hep A only got worse from his reckless consumption of oily foods and greasy take out, and has been causing him severe stomach pains for the past month. In an aggressive, American-style diagnosis my uncle and his wife (both physicians) and my brother (wannabe pre-med student) all decided to just remove the damn thing (�who needs it anyway?!�). I know that the operation itself is not that serious, and he's got some good physicians taking care of him, but on the other hand between contracting Mono last May and Hep A in September his immune system has not being doing so well this past half-year. Needless to say, we are all worried sick. No pun intended.

This all comes in the aftermath of my sister's break-up with her fianc�. It is kind of along story, and not really mine to tell. Let's just say it was kind of a Romeo and Juliet situation, except that the Capulet�s weren�t so much the ones with the ginormous chip on their shoulders. My sister is ultimately the one who broke it off, but only because she wanted to come out of the situation with a degree of grace and dignity. This all took place about two weeks ago, and we are all still getting over the initial heartbreak. Even though it is ultimately my sister�s THING we are all very protective of her, and all pretty much can�t understand why anyone would treat her that way (not her fianc�, his family). It�s kind of like that scene at the end of (wait for it) Dirty Dancing* where Patrick Swayze comes up to where Jennifer Grey is sitting with her parents at the end-of-summer talent show and famously says, �Nobody puts Baby in the corner.� The idea being that no one, but no one, treats our princess that way. I do not know anyone who upon meeting my sister doesn�t instantly love her. And there have been some tough critics (my sister still can�t get over how fond of her Lady Di** seems to be =). In fact, some people who haven�t even met my sister already love her. That is because that is just who she genuinely is, and those are just the kinds of feelings that she genuinely inspires.

[Great, funny side story here: About two months ago we attended the engagement party of my mom�s best friend�s youngest daughter. It was the first time for my sister�s fianc� to be introduced to anyone outside our family and our larger social crowd. Throughout the evening, friend�s of my parents�who include Egypt�s foremost internist and a government minister, among other intimidating figures�came up to our table and one-by-one, took my sister�s fianc� aside and, in a confidential tone reminiscent of the Godfather, explained to him that my sister �is like a daughter to us, and if you ever hurt or upset her you will have us to deal with.� Even my sister was surprised by a few of the people who came up to them. It was totally unexpected, though not unbelievable, and no one else at that party would have garnered the same reaction. Really.]

So anyway, it has been really been getting us all down that she (and actually we all) have been so unjustly judged and treated. And it�s funny, the one person who seems to be the most okay (I said most, not completely okay) with the situation is my sister herself. Because, again, that is just the kind of person she is. Always stronger and able to bear more than it looks like she can.

And that�s that. Two of the people I love most in the world, and the two people I count as my dearest, bestest friends have been having some down weeks, and it�s taken its toll on all of us.

So, if you have a moment, send some good thoughts my brother�s way tomorrow morning. And if anyone knows any attractive, decent, good Muslim men whose families (this is most important) are not completely psycho, feel free to leave their contact info and headshots (8x10 colored glossies preferred) in the guestbook.

_____________
* You didn�t really think I�d get through a whole entry without at least one pop cheesy culture reference, did you?

** Happy Birthday to Lady Di who is dickerty-something-years-old tomorrow!

go west + go east